Political Cartoons by Lisa Benson

Lisa Benson - Tuesday, December 30, 2008

  • Lisa Benson
    Tue, Dec 30 2008
  • Lisa Benson
    Tue, Dec 30 2008
  • Lisa Benson
    Tue, Dec 23 2008
  • Lisa Benson
    Mon, Dec 22 2008
  • Lisa Benson
    Thu, Dec 18 2008
  • Lisa Benson
    Tue, Dec 16 2008
  • Lisa Benson
    Mon, Dec 15 2008
  • Lisa Benson
    Wed, Dec 10 2008
  • Lisa Benson
    Tue, Dec 09 2008
  • Lisa Benson
    Mon, Dec 08 2008
  • Lisa Benson
    Mon, Dec 08 2008
  • Lisa Benson
    Thu, Dec 04 2008
  • Lisa Benson
    Tue, Dec 02 2008
  • Lisa Benson
    Tue, Dec 02 2008
  • Lisa Benson
    Mon, Dec 01 2008

About the Author:

Lisa Benson came to editorial cartooning a little later than most, in the midst of raising her four children. In the early 1990s, Benson's husband's business was going through an industrywide recession, so she began looking at employment options to supplement the family income. "Cartooning seemed like a glamorous choice. It was either that or work in fast food. I shook some hands and some people were actually impressed with what I could do, or felt sorry for me," Benson quipped. In 1990, she started drawing cartoons for a local monthly publication, "The Senior Advocate," and doing paste-up and cutting rubylith for the color separations.