John McCaslin

Now, is reporting that Lowe's has apologized: "That was a complete error," Lowe's spokeswoman Maureen Rich says. "Right now, we're extremely disappointed in this breakdown in our own creative process."

Tran Van Ba Way

This year's trio of recipients of the Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation's Truman-Reagan Medal of Freedom join an elite group of past medal winners who have fought against tyranny, including Pope John Paul II, Vaclav Havel, Lech Walesa and Elena Bonner.

The 2007 honorees, to be announced this evening at the Embassy of Hungary, are Janos Horvath of Hungary, the late Tran Van Ba of the former South Vietnam and Rep. Dana Rohrabacher, California Republican. Hungarian Ambassador Ferenc Somogyi and Washington historian, author and Catholic University professor Lee Edwards, the foundation's chairman, will co-host the awards ceremony.

As a former senior speechwriter to President Reagan, Mr. Rohrabacher, a senior member of the House Foreign Affairs Committee, played a pivotal role in the formulation of the anti-Soviet "Reagan Doctrine."

A senior member of the Hungarian parliament, Mr. Horvath fought in the Hungarian independence movement against Adolf Hitler and the Nazis during World War II, and challenged the communist-imposed dictatorship in Hungary in the late 1940s. He was a political leader in the Hungarian Revolution of 1956 and temporarily gained refuge in America.

Mr. Ba — whose father, Tran Van Van, was a respected member of the South Vietnamese parliament before being assassinated by the communists — was arrested in 1984 by the communist regime and executed on charges of treason. There is a street dedicated to him in Falls Church by the Washington-area Vietnamese community.

John McCaslin

John McCaslin is a contributing columnist on and author of Inside The Beltway: Offbeat Stories, Scoops, and Shenanigans from around the Nation's Capital .

Be the first to read John McCaslin's column. Sign up today and receive delivered each morning to your inbox.