Brian Walsh

Currently represented by freshman Democrat Frank Kratovil, Maryland’s First Congressional District generally leans Republican according to election history and maintains a strong trace of conservatism, despite the even number of registered Democrats and Republicans. Encompassing the entire Eastern Shore of Maryland and taking in conservative parts of Anne Arundel, Baltimore and Harford Counties, the First District had been in Republican hands for all but 14 years since 1959 until Kratovil took office in 2008.

Rush Limbaugh

In 2008, Kratovil narrowly defeated Republican State Senator Andy Harris in the General Election for MD-01. Kratovil’s victory was due in large part to the blank-slate nature of his candidacy and the political environment at the time, which leaned heavily Democrat. Even then, this was one of the closest congressional races of 2008.

Now Kratovil has a record, and it’s not a good one in such a conservative district – especially since the political environment favors the GOP. His votes for the failed stimulus bill and the job-killing national energy tax, and his support for a government-run public healthcare option – despite his no vote on the final bill – have angered many taxpayers in this conservative area of Maryland.

This year, with the changing political climate, Kratovil’s liberal record and battle-tested Republican candidate Andy Harris on the ballot again, Republicans have a clear path to victory on Election Day. Harris, who was among the first GOP candidates across the country to achieve ‘Young Gun’ status, the top tier of the NRCC’s three-level Young Guns recruitment program, has already proven his ability to build a winning campaign and achieve vital fundraising goals. Harris has already raised more than $1 million in his bid to defeat Kratovil. His extensive medical background combined with a demonstrated dedication and selfless service to his country and community make him an excellent candidate to represent the First District of Maryland.

Brian Walsh

Brian Walsh is the Political Director of the National Republican Congressional Committee.